Virginia is known as one of the most popular destination for travelers. And with spring drawing near we can see many families planning for vacations to this particular destination. During this time of the year, the way to the most visited locations such as Shenandoah national park, Williamsburg, civil war battlefields, Yorktown, Virginia beach and state troopers with blue flashing lights can be seen filled with travelers from all around the world. And nothing can mess up a sunny tour on the highways of Virginia quicker than being cited for a hasty driving ticket and an obligatory return trip for traffic court.
In Virginia, reckless driving is one of the traffic breaches that have been raised to a misconduct criminal offense. It falls under the same categorization as DWI or DUI (driving under the influence), assault and petit robbery, hit and run. A reckless driving conviction in Virginia, like class 1 offense can result in a fine of up to $2500 and a jail term for up to 1 year. On top of that, Virginia requires the convict to come up to the court and counter the charge. A person cannot prepay the ticket. Therefore, the wisest choice In this case will be to hire a reckless driving lawyer Virginia.
The traffic rules in Virginia are not less than 14 particular acts and can be charged as reckless driving. Speeding is the most common act, while the others include, failure to signal, racing, two motorcycles riding abreast in a single lane, over taking a stopped school bus, passing on a high crest and not stopping before entering a highway from a side street.
Also speeding 20 miles more than the speed limit in Virginia is charged as reckless driving. In addition, even if the posted speed limit is 70 or 75 mph, driving over 80 mph is also charged for reckless driving. Depending on the driver’s dealings with the officer and the reason why a person is stopped, the officer will have the authority to take the person into custody immediately and also confiscate their vehicle.